Background Check Requests From Other States

Utah is a Compact State.

"Compact States" are states that have ratified the National Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact Act of 1998 in order to facilitate electronic information sharing for noncriminal justice purposes (such as employment) among the Federal Government and states. More information can be found at The National Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact Act of 1998opens in a new tab. The Compact allows signatory states to disseminate its criminal history record information to other states for noncriminal justice purposes in accordance with the laws of the receiving state. For the most up-to-date Compact States and Territories map visit Compact States & Territoriesopens in a new tab.

Utah is a NFF state.

The National Fingerprint File (NFF) is a database of fingerprints, or other unique personal identification information relating to an arrested or charged individual, which is maintained by the FBI to provide positive fingerprint identification of record subjects. Only a state or territory that has ratified the Compact (a Compact State) may join the NFF program. When this process is completed, an FBI fingerprint check will satisfy the requirement to perform an interstate check of another state's criminal history record repository if the responding state (where the child care staff member has resided within the past 5 years) participates in the NFF program. For the most up-to-date NFF Participation map, visit the Interstate Identification Index (III) National Fingerprint File (NFF)opens in a new tab.

The Federal Office of Child Care requirements for the Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) include having procedures for authorized individuals and agencies from other states to request background check information for individuals who have resided in Utah for the past five years. Following are those procedures:

Criminal Records

There are two ways to request an individual's criminal records through the Utah Department of Public Safety.

The individual can request their own criminal record directly from Public Safety by going to Utah Department of Public Safety Criminal Recordsopens in a new tab. After submitting the required information and fee, they will receive a certified letter with their criminal record.

A qualifying entity can request the individual's criminal record through the Utah Department of Public Safety. This is permitted by Utah Code Annotated 53-10-108opens in a new tab and Public Law 105-251opens in a new tab. For more information and the request application, go to Utah Department of Public Safety Employment Background Check Formsopens in a new tab.

There is a $15.00 fee for either of the above options.

For more information, contact Criminal Identification (BCI) at 801-965-4445, option #6, then option #2. They are open Mondays through Fridays from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm. (They are closed on major holidays.)

Utah Sex Offender Registry Records

The Utah Sex Offender Registry is managed by the Utah Department of Corrections and is accessible to the public. To see if an individual is listed in the Utah Sex Offender Registry, go to Utah Department of Corrections Sex and Kidnap Offender Notification and Registrationopens in a new tab

Child Protective Services Records

The child abuse and neglect registry is managed by the Division of Child and Family Services in the Utah Department of Human Services. To request a report from Utah Child Protective Services, go to Utah Department of Human Services Forms Background Screening Requestopens in a new tab