June 1, 2014

Dear Center Child Care Provider:

We are writing to let you know about two important things going on in Child Care Licensing.

1. This year's Utah legislation has increased child care licensing fees. The new fees are part of HB8 and will be
effective July 1, 2014. The new fees are as follows:

Fee

Description

Amount

Background Check

This is a new fee required by the Legislature for each in-state
background screening conducted by the Department. This includes
Initial and renewal screenings for all covered individuals. This fee is in
addition to the $36.50 fingerprint fee charged by the FBI when
fingerprints are required .

$15.00 per person

New Center License

This fee is assessed for services rendered to providers seeking initial
licensure or change of ownership to cover the cost of processing the
application, staff consultation, review of facility policies, initial
inspection, etc. This fee is due at the time of application. This fee will
remain the same.

$200.00 per facility

Per Child New and
Renewal Fee

This annual fee is charged based on the number of children the facility
is licensed for. This fee applies to new and renewal licenses. The
Legislature raised this fee from $1.50 per child to $1.75 per child.

$1.75 per child

License Application

This is the license application fee, for both new licenses and annual
license renewals. The Legislature raised this fee from $25 to $31.

$31.00 per facility

Late Renewal

Within 1 - 30 days after the expiration of license/certificate, the facility
is assessed 50% of renewal fee in addition to the renewal fee. The
Legislature raised this fee from $12.50 to $15.50.

$15.50 per facility

Additional Follow-Up

This is the charge for extra visits, which begins with the second follow-
up visit, required due to non-compliance. This fee will remain the
same.

$25.00 per
additional inspection




Fee Description Amount

Additional This is a new fee required by the Legislature. It will be charged to | $253.00 per visit
Conditional facilities who are on a conditional license/certificate due to non-
Monitoring compliance. Itis charged for each conditional monitoring inspection,
beginning with the second monitoring visit.
License Changes This fee is charged when there are more than two changes in license | $31.00 per facility
during the one year license period. The Legislature raised this fee
from $25 to $31.

2. A proposed change to the Background Screening Rules has been filed with the Division of Administrative Rules
and will be open for public comment from June 15" until July 15". The proposed change increases the time frame to
submit identifying information of new covered individuals from five to ten working days. To view the full text of
this proposed rule change, go to: http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/bulletin.htm and scroll down to heading
"Utah State Bulletin Issues." The proposed changes to the child care licensing rules will be in Vol. 2014, No. 12
(06/15/2014).

Comments on the proposed rule changes can be submitted until 5 pm on Tuesday, July 15, 2014. All comments
must be submitted in writing. Comments can be submitted via email to: sholivar@utah.gov, or by mail to:

Child Care Licensing Program

P.O. Box 142003

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-2003

Thank you all for your hard work and dedication on behalf of Utah’s children!

Sincerely,

Simon Bolivar
Child Care Licensing
Program Administrator
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