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CHILD CARE CENTER LICENSING COMMITTEE MEETING 
MEETING MINUTES 
11 September 2014 

Cannon Health Building, Room 128 

288 North 1460 West 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
 

Members Present: Joan Nichol, Dale Smith, Genevieve Romero, Fred C. Cox, Julie Shakib, and                       

Deborah Tilley. 

 

Members Excused: Becky Lageschulte 

 

Department of Health and Child Care Licensing Staff Present: Marc Babitz, Teresa Whiting, 

Simon Bolivar, Jessica Strout, Joyce Hasting, Kathleen Sanders, Sue Kirkham, and Jennifer 

Franchow. 

 

WELCOME 
Ms. Tilley welcomed members of the committee and the public.                                                                                                                                                                                                               

    

 
NEW BUSINESS 

 
Proposed required training for CMV 
Stephanie Browning McVicar, Au.D., CCC-A Utah Early Hearing Detection and Intervention 

(EHDI) Director, State of Utah Department of Health. Ms. McVicar provided a video and 

presentation on the effects of Cytomegalovirus (CMV) and proposed requiring CMV training for 

Child Care Center providers and staff.  

 

A motion was made by Deborah Lynne Tilley, committee chair, to research CMV and discuss  

training requirements prior to making a decision; seconded by Member Dale Smith and was 

unanimously approved by the committee.    

 

Committee By-Laws 
Mr. Bolivar spoke about the function and responsibility of the committee. The committee will 

make rules for center based providers only. Mr. Bolivar presented the By-Laws used by the 

previous Advisory Committee as a sample document for this committee to create their own. This 

document will need to be updated to be applicable to this committee. Mr. Bolivar requested 

committee changes and recommendations to this document to be sent to him no later than 

September 30, for review by the legal department.  

 

Conflict of Interest and Ethics Act 
The committee reviewed Conflict of Interest documents and Ethics Act. 

• Conflict of Interest Disclosure Statement. 

• Memorandum from Brittany Huff, Assistant Attorney General. 

• 67-16-1 Utah Public Officers' and Employees' Ethics Act.   
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Mr. Bolivar requested comments or clarifications to be sent to sbolivar@utah.gov and he will 

forward them to the Attorney General.  

  

Results from Survey to Child Care Providers 
The committee reviewed the results from the child care provider survey. It was determined that 

most of the participants were home based providers and a majority requested rule clarification. 

Mr. Smith asked Mr. Bolivar if someone on his staff could take the comments and categorize 

them by rule. Mr. Bolivar agreed to the request. 

 

Rules Questions from Committee and Survey 
•R430-100-8(10) Define “An Emergency Medical Transport” 24 hours to report, and 

HIPPA laws.  

Mr. Bolivar stated the rule requires an accident that required medical treatment to be reported 

within 24 hours, whether the child is transported or not. Mr. Bolivar will draft a proposed change 

to this rule to clarify that it is 24 facility working hours. 
   (10) The provider shall call the Department within 24 hours to report any fatality, 
hospitalization,     emergency medical response, or injury that requires attention from a health 
care provider, unless an emergency medical transport was part of a child's medical treatment 
plan identified by the parent. The provider shall also mail or fax a written report to the 
Department within five days of the incident. 

  

 •R430-100-23(11) Diaper changing every two hours. 

Mr. Bolivar provided a brief explanation of R430-100-23(11) Diaper changing every two hours. 

Ms. Tilley asked Mr. Bolivar for clarification of rule R430-100-23(11) and R430-100-23 (12). 

Mr. Bolivar stated the rule requires that caregivers check diapers at least once every two hours 

and only change the diapers if they are soiled or wet. A written record is required to be 

kept only for infants and toddlers. 

Mr. Bolivar will add language to the interpretation manual to help providers understand these 

rules. 

(11) Caregivers shall change children's diapers promptly when they are wet or soiled, and shall 

check diapers at least once every two hours. 

(12) Caregivers shall keep a written record daily for each infant and toddler documenting their 

diaper changes. The record shall be completed within an hour of each diaper change, and shall 

include the child's name, the time of the diaper change, and whether the diaper was dry, wet, 

soiled, or both. 

 

 •R430-100-3 License Required and Exempt Facilities. 

Mr. Bolivar provided a brief explanation of R430-100-3 License Required and Exempt Facilities.  

Ms. Tilley asked Mr. Bolivar for clarification and definition of Rule R430-100-3. Mr. Bolivar 

explained the differences between Center, Hourly, Out of School Time, and Exemptions.  

Mr. Bolivar explained the difference between statute and rule including what facilities would be 

considered exempt under Rule R430-8 and state statute. 
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Ms. Tilley asked Mr. Bolivar if Summer Camps were included in the rule. Mr. Bolivar replied, 

“Once Child Care Licensing is made aware of a Summer Program they will investigate to 

determine if a license is required.” 

 

 
 

AGENCY UPDATES 
 

Mr. Matherly reported updates on the QRS steering committee. Two pending issues could affect 

the QRS steering committee. The first issue is a proposed senate bill that would affect the 

Human Services Rules and Regulations. The second issue is a senate bill that would affect the 

funding which would affect the program by mandating a parent tiered payment system and 

require a publisher rating system. A decision was made to hold off on the changes within the 

QRS system until further notice.  

  

Mr. Bolivar reported the progress on implementation of the universal clearance card. The card-

printing machine has been ordered. The background clearance forms will be updated once the 

machine has been received, and until then, the current background clearance forms should be 

used.   

 

  
Ms. Tilley adjourned the meeting at 11:05 a.m. 

 

The next meeting is November 13, 2014, from 9:00 am- 11:00 am in Room 128 of the Cannon 

Health Building at 288 North 1460 West in Salt Lake City.      


