Site SettingsSettings

HOW TO APPLY


The Utah Department of Health, Child Care Licensing Program, regulates and/or monitors both child care centers and in-home child care providers under Utah Code 26-39. According to Utah statute, child care means continous care and supervision of five or more qualifying children in lieu of parental care, for less than 24 hours a day, and for direct or indirect compensation.


You will need a child care license or certificate if you are caring for more than four children who are not related to you, and for more than four hours a day. Individuals and centers who care for less than four unrelated children or for any number of unrelated children for less than four hours a day are welcome to become voluntarily licensed or certified, but a license or certificate is not required. The Department does not regulate providers who only care for related children, or who provide care on a sporadic basis only.


If you are license exempt, you will need a Department of Workforce Services (DWS) approval to be eligible to receive DWS money. This includes child care subsidy payments, grants, and afterschool professional credentials and development awards for staff.


To help you choose the type of license or approval you will need, please click on facility type names below for a short description.

Licensed Centers
Child care is provided in a nonresidential setting and children have regular schedules of care. The number of children allowed is determined by the facility's total square footage. There must be a director who is at least 21 years old and meets the educational requirements. There must be a safely accessible fenced outdoor play area.
Licensed Hourly Centers
Child care is provided in a nonresidential setting and children don't have regular schedules of care. An outdoor play area is not required. The number of children allowed is determined by the facility's total square footage. There must be a director who is at least 21 years old and meets the educational requirements.
Licensed Out of School Time Programs
Child care is provided in a nonresidential setting and care is only for school age (ages 5-12) children. The program is open to children on an ongoing basis, on three or more days a week and for 30 or more days in a calendar year. The number of children allowed is determined by the facility's total square footage. There must be a director who is at least 21 years old and meets the educational requirements.
Licensed Family
Child care is provided in a private home for up to 16 children (unless otherwise determined by the city), including the provider's own children under the age of four. Providers must be at least 18 years old. Two qualified caregivers are required when there are more than eight children in care and when there are more than two children under the age of two in care. With two caregivers, providers can care for up to (but not more than) four children under the age of two. A compliant outdoor play area is required.
Residential Certificate
Child care is provided in a private home for up to eight children (unless otherwise determined by the city), including the provider's own children under the age of four. There can be up to (but not more than) two children under the age of two in care. Providers must be at least 18 years old. An outdoor play area is not required.
DWS Approved Family, Friend, and Neighbor (FFN)
Child care is provided in the home of the provider or in the home of the child(ren) and is for children of parents who receive child care subsidy from the Department of Workforce Services (DWS). There can be no more than four children not related to the provider in care. This is not a license; this a DWS approval.
DWS Approved License Exempt Facilities and Programs
Child care is provided at a nonresidential facility that is not legally required to be licensed and the facility receives child care subsidy payments, grants, staff after school professional credentials and/or staff after school development awards from the Department of Workforce Services. This is not a license; this is a DWS approval.
License Exempt Facilities and Programs
Child care is provided at a facility that is not required to be licensed. Providers are not eligible to any DWS money.
Registered Facilities and Programs
Child care is provided in a home or at a residential setting and a license or certificate is not available.
Registered Teen Programs
Programs are for 13 to 18-year olds and a license or certificate is not available.

Facility Type
Rules
Basic Requirements
Inspections
Application
Licensed Centers
  • Application and Fees
  • Current City Business License
  • Current Fire Inspection
  • Current Kitchen Inspection
  • Qualified Director
  • Pre-service Training
  • Background Screenings, including Fingerprints and Fees
  • Health and Safety Plan
  • First Aid and CPR Certification
  • Pre-License Inspection
  • Annual Unannounced Inspections
  • Annual Announced Renewal Inspections
  • Complaint Investigations
  • Follow-Up Inspections as Needed
Licensed Hourly Centers
  • Application and Fees
  • Current City Business License
  • Current Fire Inspection
  • Current Kitchen Inspection
  • Qualified Director
  • Pre-service Training
  • Background Screenings, including Fingerprints and Fees
  • Health and Safety Plan
  • First Aid and CPR Certification
  • Pre-License Inspection
  • Annual Unannounced Inspections
  • Annual Announced Renewal Inspections
  • Complaint Investigations
  • Follow-Up Inspections as Needed
Licensed Out of School Time Programs
  • Application and Fees
  • Current City Business License
  • Current Fire Inspection
  • Current Kitchen Inspection
  • Qualified Director
  • Pre-service Training
  • Background Screenings, including Fingerprints and Fees
  • Health and Safety Plan
  • First Aid and CPR Certification
  • Pre-License Inspection
  • Annual Unannounced Inspections
  • Annual Announced Renewal Inspections
  • Complaint Investigations
  • Follow-Up Inspections as Needed
Licensed Family
  • Application and Fees
  • Current City Business License
  • Current Fire Inspection
  • Current Kitchen Inspection
  • Affidavit of Legal Presence for the Licensee
  • Pre-service Training
  • Background Screenings, including Fingerprints and Fees
  • Health and Safety Plan
  • First Aid and CPR Certification
  • Pre-License Inspection
  • Annual Unannounced Inspections
  • Annual Announced Renewal Inspections
  • Complaint Investigations
  • Follow-Up Inspections as Needed
Residential Certificate
  • Application and Fees
  • Current City Business License
  • Current Fire Inspection
  • Current Kitchen Inspection
  • Affidavit of Legal Presence for the Licensee
  • Pre-service Training
  • Background Screenings, including Fingerprints and Fees
  • Health and Safety Plan
  • First Aid and CPR Certification
  • Pre-License Inspection
  • Annual Unannounced Inspections
  • Annual Announced Renewal Inspections
  • Complaint Investigations
  • Follow-Up Inspections as Needed
DWS Approved Family, Friend, and Neighbor (FFN)
  • Initial Approval Inspection
  • Annual Unannounced Inspections
  • Annual Announced Renewal Inspections
  • Complaint Investigations
  • Follow-Up Inspections as Needed
DWS Approved License Exempt Facilities and Programs
  • Application
  • Qualified Director
  • Pre-service Training
  • Background Screenings, including Fingerprints and Fees
  • Health and Safety Plan
  • First Aid and CPR Certification
  • Initial Approval Inspection
  • Annual Unannounced Inspections
  • Annual Announced Renewal Inspections
  • Complaint Investigations
  • Follow-Up Inspections as Needed
License Exempt Facilities and Programs
  • Submit a License Exempt Application
  • Report to CCL Number and Ages of Children in Care
  • Background Screenings, including Fingerprints and Fees
  • Post a CCL Exempt Notice
Only Complaint Investigations
Registered Facilities and Programs
No Rule
  • Submit a License Exempt Registration Form
  • No Background Screenings
No Inspections
Registered Teen Programs
No Rule
  • Submit a License Exempt Registration Form
  • No Background Screenings
No Inspections

For confidentiality purposes, only the Program Administrator sees your comments.

If you would like a response, please fill out your name and email address.

  1. (Optional)
  2. (Optional)
  3. Feedback Submitted. Thank you!